Some things aren't true until you say them...

07.16.2001 - 8:02 p.m.

My mom is cleaning my room today. This is a bit unnerving, because I live two hours away from my room and can't stop her. In fact, she'd already started when she told me, leading me to decide it was probably too late to warn her not to disturb the second dresser drawer, where I keep the lingerie I didn't bother taking with me. I remember when I was packing, I looked at it for several minutes thinking, "I should pack this. Who knows what might happen when I'm gone. Mom might be looking for a sweater or something. Or Calvin could have a sleepover. Or hey, I might actually meet Mr. Next, and then I'd want it." But then of course I said to myself, "Nonsense. It's perfectly safe here. No one will bother your stuff, and you know perfectly well that you only meet cute guys when you're wearing the ratty underwear with the boring bra."

(Calvin, by the way, is not my youngest brother's name, but if you ever read Calvin and Hobbes, you already know him.)

Besides, even if it wasn't too late to keep Mom out of the drawer, it would be more embarassing to tell her about it than it would be to have her find it when I'm not there and I don't have to see her reaction. If I don't see it, I have the absolute and inalienable right to decide whether or not it ever happened. (...and no one would know/ at least not to the point where we would think so...)

Don't get the wrong idea- I love my mom, and normally tell her just about everything (the, um, details of my sex life being the single major exception) and she wouldn't normally be rooting around my room at all, except that my middle brother (there are three, all younger) is bringing home a French exchange student, and they need the bed, and a place to put his clothes... Come to think of it, actually it's probably better that my lingerie will be stuffed in some closet corner and will not spend two weeks in the same room with an eighteen-year-old strange male from just outside Paris.

The things you do for family.

-stonebridge

Today's sad thing: I forgot to buy milk again so I can't make half of my food

Today's happy thing: the boss finally handed out keys, so I'm no longer required to swallow dignity and spend five to ten minutes finding someone who can open my office for me each morning while everyone looks at me like I'm too dumb to use my own keys, which they've chosen not to realize I don't have. How's that for a sentence.

Notes for Next Time: if you walk AROUND the chair, it doesn't hurt your toes so much.

previous | next