Some things aren't true until you say them...

06.26.2002 - 11:18 a.m.

Snippets of Life:

There is this one parking space in my parking lot. It is right under a hole in a tree, so nobody ever parks there in the mornings, because it�s never in the shade.

It doesn�t seem to occur to anyone that the sun isn�t exactly stationary.

And that�s how I always get the best spot in the parking lot, even though I never get to work quite on time.

**********

Chris, the Guy Who Knows Stuff, told me today I should get a shirt that says, "Bow before me, for I am root," or maybe "Be nice to me or I will write you a very small shell script." The suggestion was hilarious for two reasons. 1) I got the jokes, and 2) I am new enough at Unix that they still sounded like utter nonsense.

**********

�Decide� is an interesting word. The dictionary would have you believe it simply means �to choose between possible courses of action.�

It won�t tell you that sometimes it means, �to surrender to the inevitability of the only possible action,� and sometimes even �to admit the necessity of action, any action.� Experience gives a rather strong implication that deciding to continue on as you�ve been going just does not count.

I�m not very fond of those last few. They�re not as easy. If I ever wrote a dictionary, I wouldn�t put them in, either.

************

As a result of a recent (crazy) decision, I couldn't sleep last night. I kept waking up from strange dreams. "Make me into a story," they kept saying. I kept getting up for a drink of water, a trip to the bathroom, trying to wake up enough to see if they really made sense, or if it was just that dream-mode where it's perfectly logical to know that a former best friend, Angelina Jolie, and your cat are really the same person.

I am still not sure.

-stonebridge

previous | next