Some things aren't true until you say them...

07.12.2002 - 8:23 a.m.

A year ago today, sitting in this same chair, wearing something similarly inappropriate as office dress, I was wasting the same person�s money and wondering what I should call myself.

I�d been thinking about all of the things I was losing, and all of the things I wanted to gain. How you have to give up the comforting yet completely unnecessary crap in order to find the core of who you are.

Like sculpting. Who was it who said, �I just chip away everything that isn�t the statue�? Or something to that effect, I don�t actually know the quote. Some famous artist�anyway, that�s what I wanted to do. (No, you can�t see the final product. I am so not done yet.)

So I wanted a name that sounded like a sculpture. Or like erosion. And I remembered taking pictures of arches in Utah, flowing red-orange lines against an impossibly blue sky. I remembered standing on top of the natural bridge in Kentucky. Standing on a stone bridge between the ridge I�d climbed up and the one I would climb down.

Stonebridge. How poetic, I thought.

Then I thought, no, actually that�s corny and melodramatic, which is why I didn�t explain this in my first entry.

One year ago today.

-stonebridge

previous | next