Some things aren't true until you say them...

08.14.2002 - 9:47 a.m.

So a while ago, I took a road trip to Michigan with my parents and twelve-year-old youngest bro, using two cars so my parents could give one to the bro we were visiting. Drove through West Virginia with just my younger bro in the car. He's, um, entertaining. I wrote it down, but then I forgot about it.

Found it again while unpacking... so here you go:

We were driving though some town in West Virginia. West Virginia is all about churches on hills.

I pointed one out to my bro. "Look at that one, that has a neat roof."

"Yeah. I hope it's not an evil church."

"An evil church." (quizzical)

"Yeah like that big one in Washington, what's it called, begins with a b..."

"The Basilica?"

"Yeah! When you first go in, there's this big pipe organ that makes horror music. And then there's this big picture of Jesus, but his eyes are on fire and he's shooting laser beams out of his hands, and he's surrounded by dead people who are like, aaarghh..."

I wrote this in the truck stop just after that leg of driving. At the bottom, I'd left myself a note to "describe all gestures."

Of course, I don't remember the gestures any more, so you'll just have to imagine them. The aaarghh in particular had a good one, I think. My mom is the one who took him to the Basilica one weekend, because whe wanted to make sure he knew what a beautiful church was like. I wonder if she's aware of the impression he walked away with...

My brother has a talent for skirting the edge of sacrilege. Last Christmas he brought a dog skull to the table. Plunked it right down on the tablecloth next to the good china and proceeded to ask Dad if he thought the brains might still be in it. He'd found it in the woods behind our house.

I think he still has it.


Take the What High School

Stereotype Are You? quiz, by Angel.

I really don't know why I bothered taking this one. I knew that already.

-stonebridge

previous | next