Some things aren't true until you say them...

11.01.2002 - 2:35 a.m.

Last night I was a devil in a red dress. I took a trip with an angel to my old stomping grounds, two hours to the north. I didn�t get the Southern Accent Guy to dance on the table, but I did get the angel to eat too much chocolate. And the angel had a few pretty good Flirting Moments with the guy. I had an interesting discussion with Jesus, reminisced with Mr. Sombrero (I used to date his brother), and sang songs with a zombie and a girl dressed in camouflaged fairy wings (Get it? A fairy in the army. Don�t ask, don�t tell�groan�) It was a good night. Afterwards the moon was low and yellow and sideways like a cat�s smile or a slice of pumpkin. At two in the morning on a weeknight, there are only semis on the roads, and half of them are parked in rows along exit ramps, sleeping, I suppose. You forget where on the road you are without those reminders of traffic density and having to stop for lights. There are so many stars.

This morning I decided to wear a big soft sweater and my brown stretchy pants to work, because they were the nearest thing to pajamas I could find in my closet. Muddled through a final boss-meeting about the conference, got a few things done through the tired-headache, wished with every fiber of my being for a bed or a couch or a not-too-hard floor. Did remember lunch though. Lunch is important.

Tonight I have to clean up all the glitter-scatters, pack up the jumbled cosmetics and costume pieces, and get the rest of the pink out of my hair, but I did manage to get my contacts out and scrub the makeup off of my face before collapsing last night, and I think that counts as a victory.

I even remembered to pay rent this morning. How�s that for being on top of things.

Simple pleasures. It is all about the little things, especially when you are tired.

Ooo! I just remembered I have 3/4 of a chocolate bar in the glove compartment!! See? Little things.

-stonebridge

previous | next