Some things aren't true until you say them...

11.08.2002 - 11:04 a.m.

Went for a walk last night with Kat, down to the point. It's one of the prettiest spots on campus, partially wooded, right at the edge of the water, great view of the stars, you get the idea. I hadn't been down there in a while, probably not since that first summer after graduating.

It's a historic place, and I don't mean that in terms of Maryland's history, although there is that too. It's just historic for me. It's one of those places I can chart my life by, maybe not where so many significant events have actually happened, but often where I've been when I've finally made sense of them. This was the site of my first kiss with the ex. This was the place I did so much of my writing. This is where I kayaked to, where I swam at, where I stood alone and tried to understand breakups and deaths and other painful things that had to happen.

They've changed it. They've set up rocks to stop the erosion; the sand spit is growing, now, not falling away. The erosion used to be just about my favorite thing about the point; I felt like every time I went, the river took whatever I was feeling out of me, washing it down and away from my feet. I feel like that river knows all of my old selves, like it remembers. I love that despite everything it must know by now, it still seems to hold an unshakeable peace.

-stonebridge

previous | next