Some things aren't true until you say them...

12.10.2002 - 9:41 a.m.

(Looks carefully at week of diary entries)

Resolution the first: No more silly dating squirm entries, as the rest of diaryland pretty much has them covered. Will return to deep and insightful observations about life.

For instance: I was walking in from the car last night when I noticed that the ice puddle in the sidewalk was much smaller than it had been that morning. Realized that since it's been below freezing all day, the ice must have evaporated straight from its solid state to a gaseous one. Spent a while trying to remember the word for that. I learned it in high school, I'm almost sure. It began with an 'S', and it was a much neater word than 'evaporate.' I remembered that it was the kind of word that wanted sound effects, like a choir singing ah! in a high, major chord.

Woke up this morning thinking, 'sublimate.' Yep, that's the word. Like 'sublime,' see? Sublimating ice is sublime. And the word 'sublime' makes me think of Moby Dick, because my professor for that class kept using it to describe Melville's constant juxtaposition of light, dark, good, evil, knowledge and unknowability.

(Looks carefully at above entry.)

No, that IS deep and thoughtful, I swear.

Really.

-stonebridge

previous | next