Some things aren't true until you say them...

02.04.2003 - 10:54 a.m.

Neurons are fascinating things. Everything I do happens in my brain first. Zzt goes the electricity in my brain, and I reach out to pet the cat. Zzt-zap-spark, and I pull my hand back just before she bites it, zap-zzt-blink and smack her lightly on the nose. Sometimes I write speeches in my head, or the neurons do, anyway. Zib-zab-zub, thought. What else can I do? Then it iterates: Zap-flash-blink-whiz. A thought about my previous thought. You can stop thinking about it.

Nobody knows why these patterns of discharge think of themselves as �me.� Nobody understands how they think, period, and my neurons think that mystery is one of the more beautiful things they�ve ever flashed between themselves. Saw a quote on another diary recently:

�I used to think that the brain was the most wonderful organ in my body. Then I realized who was telling me this.� (Emo Phillips)

My neurons are a model of speed, efficiency, and the power of the inexplicable. Which is how I can sit here and stare off into space for hours, inexplicably stuck.

zap-flash-repeat.

-stonebridge

previous | next