Some things aren't true until you say them...

02.06.2003 - 12:51 p.m.

I wake up at 4:23 this morning to hear my cellphone dying. Three muffled low-battery beeps from the coat across the room. It�s a little bit like a quiet version of my alarm clock, which is my excuse for waking up at all.

It�s funny how a silly little thing like a dead battery can keep you up, thinking I should plug it in. I should plug it in. Like my laptop battery, which at this point has been thoroughly coddled to death. It holds maybe five minutes of charge, now. I blame it on the little battery picture in the top corner; I just don�t feel right unless it is full.

Keeping lessons learned from the laptop in mind, I don�t get up to plug the phone in, but I can�t go back to sleep until several minutes later when I hear the last beep, the one that means �I am turning myself off now because you obviously don�t love me anymore.�

Oh, the guilt. It called me a Bad Mommy.

Heh. And meanwhile my cat is prancing around on me like, �Oh, you�re up? Breakfast! Petting! Love! Now!� which affects me only to the extent that I have to time a leg movement just right to make her fall off the bed.

-stonebridge

previous | next