Some things aren't true until you say them...

06.04.2003 - 2:55 p.m.

�Staying or going?� he asked a long time ago, reaching around me to turn off the TV.

�Staying, I think. I don�t really feel like walking home.�

�Wait, you walked over here through all that ice? In the dark?!�

�Well, yeah. It was a nice night, and the parking lot was an icerink. I figured it would work better on foot.�

�Hell, then I wouldn�t have let you leave if even if you�d wanted to.�

�Sure you would. If I had decided to leave, I just wouldn�t have mentioned my lack of a car.�

�Then I�d�ve been mad.�

And I�d have been very sorry to hurt him, but that doesn�t mean I�ll act any differently next time it comes up.

I do a lot of not telling. I was thinking I could stop, if I met the right person, but that was a pretty dumb thing to think. I�ll stop when I make myself stop.

If then.

-stonebridge

previous | next