Some things aren't true until you say them...

09.05.2003 - 10:51 a.m.

I am thinking there must be a new officer at the college's public safety office, and here's why:

Yesterday I left the office in the rain, and I turned my wipers on only to realize that one was caught on a little yellow slip of paper, that slip being a college parking ticket for "parking without college decal."

This is where I have been parking, plus or minus two spots, for the entirety of the two years I've been without college decal. Because, you know, it's a lot that allows visitors, so not everyone has a decal. Some people have little hard-to-see-from-a-cruising-car papers taped to the inside of their windshields.

So, if you are with me so far, two years in a regularly patrolled with no decal and no pass, yet no ticket.

Okay, so how does that happen? Well, I have a pretty recognizable car, big and white with a strut problem in the back that makes it look like I've jacked it up like a wanna-be drag racer. Also, I used to work for public safety during college, so I know most of the officers, and they all know my car. All except whoever they hired for this school year...

I went and got one of the stupid visitor passes. Now I have to get a decal, which means I have to get a staff ID card first, which I've not bothered to do because the only reason someone like me would ever need a staff ID card would be to get the staff parking decal, and the only reason to get a staff parking decal would be to avoid getting tickets I never got until yesterday, which only happened because there's a new officer who doesn't know how Things Are Done here.

The worst part is that I can't think of an excuse to make friends with this person. I hate jumping through beaurocratic hoops.

end whine/rant.

-stonebridge

previous | next