Some things aren't true until you say them...

11.11.2003 - 3:38 p.m.

I spent a very long lunch today talking to my best remaining college friend. She's over on the eastern shore now, with a husband since May. They're having money problems, not the standard kind (I-wanna-toy-and-I-can't) but real ones (which-bill-to-bounce-this-month). Everybody's in the same place. Another couple from college is in mortgage hell, a single friend is back living with his parents, nobody can find jobs.

I rearranged my bank accounts the other week thinking that if I just had a different system I'd stop coming in over budget every time, but it's looking like the car fund will be covering the phone bill again, when it is supposed to be growing.

I don't want to spend my entire life knowing I'll lose a place when they jack the rent, or waiting on grants for employment, or hoping that I never need a hospital. A nest egg isn't so very much to ask, is it?

I'm sorry, this is dumb, it's so gauche to complain about money when things could be so much worse. New subject:

The Holy Roman Empire was neither holy, roman, nor an empire. Discuss.

-stonebridge

previous | next