Some things aren't true until you say them...

02.05.2004 - 2:29 p.m.

Laying in bed, my legs tangled in blanket and cat, looking over at the empty side, thinking of the things that are left to set in order. I exercised, I cooked dinner, I trimmed the fat off of the rest of the chicken value-pack and lined it up in three freezer bags next to the ice maker. A meal and a leftover per use, no further effort above actual cooking.

I sent off the last of the month�s bills, five days early, and left utilities totals for the other roommates to pay me since it is my name on all the accounts. That was one of the bigger steps, right there.

I�ve been productive at work, and proactive. My office is clean, well-organized, and my minions are accomplishing more than in any previous semester, because I am that good at what I do.

I�ve mastered the social arts of conversation, independence, and patience.

But before I can be on top of everything, I still have to scrub the toilet and the shower, and it is probably time to refill the fish tank.

And I still have to decide what I want, but maybe once I can figure out what I am thinking�my legs tangled, my skin warm, staring past that empty pillow�maybe this time, the order will stick.

-stonebridge

previous | next