Some things aren't true until you say them...

02.23.2004 - 3:26 p.m.

I'm not sure I convinced him that 19 is too young to be engaged. I tried the argument that a ring worth "two months' salary" implied that you had a job and therefore knew what your salary was. I tried explaining that college is not the same as real life. I told him about all of my friends whose rings made them unhappy and dysfunctional, and how I escaped years of misery by such a thin margin of circumstance, when I was twenty. I told him she wasn't going anywhere, and she's not.

I do know people who married at twenty-one, twenty, or nineteen who knew exactly what they are doing, and I know that nineteen is not necessarily too young to think about this stuff.

It's just that in this case, he is nineteen by less than a month and I can tell you for certain and for true that he hasn't thought enough.

It's just that in this case, he is my little brother.

-stonebridge

previous | next