Some things aren't true until you say them...

03.12.2004 - 1:35 p.m.

The not-so-cohesive update:

Someone once wrote that writing is no more than a conversation with an audience you�ve created in your head, and with some reservations about describing writing as �no more than� anything, I believe it. I imagined my professors reading my papers in college, I can see friends reading my fiction, you guys reading this entry, and tutors, colleagues and other professors reading my emails at work. It is in that last category where I run into problems. At work, at least, the audience I imagine always seems to know so much more than I do, even when I know from meeting them in person that they don�t. So that�s something to work on.

***

I have my whole apartment to myself this weekend. I can spread my stuff all over the sitting area. I can eat meals and not do the dishes until Sunday. (It is only other people�s dishes that trigger the pet peeve.) I am looking forward to filling the whole space with music or possibly a really loud movie. Of course, each of these activities would be a direct act of procrastination against the various things I ought to do instead. Maybe if I am good tomorrow I will let myself go on Sunday. Ooo, and I don�t have to drive anywhere this weekend! I was thinking about all the visiting I�ve been doing earlier today, and I realized that over the last four weekends, I have spent an average of six hours in the car. Six hours could get me to New York or North Carolina or a number of other interesting places, but I haven�t once left Maryland. So the car and I are taking a two-day trial separation, to see if we can rekindle the passion.

***

Last night I slept with the window blinds open. I think it was good, especially because my alarm clock didn�t quite work�it was supposed to let me snooze twice before I really had to be out of bed. I snoozed it once, and didn�t hear from it again. Luckily the combination of sunlight and a cat�s weight on my neck woke me in time. (Although I need a shower.)

Sun is good. I am glad spring is coming.

-stonebridge

previous | next