Some things aren't true until you say them...

03.17.2004 - 2:16 p.m.

I am not quite warm enough, having dressed myself in a summer shirt due to lack of clean laundry. I am getting a little tired of tightening my muscles against the cold; I used most of them yesterday, and they all have a bit of stiffness in their cores. I remember walking down the path my freshman year of college, slowly because my legs ached and my shoulders were sore from practice the day before. I used to stop by a friend�s room most nights for a massage, just so I could sleep. I liked that feeling. It was a strong place to be.

But it used to take four hours of drills and running and practice to get me there. Yesterday, it took only one hour, during which I expected to travel three or four miles, but only managed two and some change. As of yesterday, I can�t even run a mile in less than 15 minutes, when it used to take less than eight. So I am sitting here not sure whether to feel strong or defeated, progressive or hopeless. At the very least, if I�m going to cover four miles per session, I�m going to need to give myself more time�maybe even wake up in the morning.

-stonebridge

previous | next