Some things aren't true until you say them...

04.13.2004 - 10:40 a.m.

"You're driving too fast," he tells me. "That's not really a stop, that's what we call a rolling..."

"California stop, yes, I know," I finish with him. "It's a perfectly good stop when I can see that there's nobody coming."

There are things I feel comfortable doing in a car, and things that I don't. Sometimes it bothers me that the set of those things I comfortably do is not the same as the set of things I lawfully do. So I constantly swerve between the belief that his training as a racer must make him a great driver who is actually an authority on how I should or should not be driving, and the equally strong belief that he just has to harass any driver who isn't him.

They're probably both true, but really, this particular stop sign? You can just see it was built to be rolled through.

-stonebridge

previous | next