Some things aren't true until you say them...

06.22.2004 - 7:53 p.m.

Today might have been a bad day. Certainly I was thinking too many of the things I shouldn't, rolling over too many old insecurities with excuses to keep them around for even longer.

But, almost by accident, I salvaged the whole deal on the drive home--I usually leave work at a decent clip, but by the time I get to a certain straightaway, I'm just cruising, often several miles below the actual limit. It bugs the hell outta the other people on the highway, I suppose, so If I notice I'll speed up, but usually by the time that happens I'm just slowing for my turnoff anyway.

Except today, I noticed right at the beginning. Except today, instead of nudging it back up to 50, I whomped it.

I don't know why I did this, but I can say that a brief smiling stint at seventy miles an hour was just what I needed to restore my perspective.

-stonebridge

previous | next