Some things aren't true until you say them...

07.13.2004 - 3:53 p.m.

Over the weekend I walked into Michael's looking for a replacement for the knitting sampler book I lost recently. I walked out with no knitting book, but with $70 of needlework projects and yarn. It must be the beginning of craft season: it seems like every year at about this time, I stock up on sculptor's clay, yarn, candle molds, scrimshaw resin, anything I can think of that would create something I could give to someone at Christmas, or for a birthday or a wedding or just because.

Every year I finish maybe three of these things, and in general, I end up giving them away for no occasion at all, because I screwed up four stitches in the fifth row, because the candle is a shade off of what I meant, because the person I give it to will like it more than I do. Every year my closet groans with the added weight of as-yet unopened craft kits. It's just kind of funny, that's all.

Three cheers for pointless hobbies!

-stonebridge

previous | next