Some things aren't true until you say them...

12.16.2004 - 12:37 p.m.

Recently noted notes related to my sense of order in life:

1) Yesterday at the grocery store I noticed that I can't just dump all my stuff on the conveyor belt. I have to load it in order, heavy stuff, cans and boxes, produce, squishable things. I also have to organize it, for instance I can't just make a pile of cans, but I have to line them up, pineapple chunks, mandarin oranges, soup, et cetera. By order of height. And it bugged me when the cashier bagged them out of order.

2) I was going to go on to say that such neuroticism is completely out of character for me, but then I remembered last weekend at the movies with a bag of Starburst, and the movie before that with Skittles. The boyfriend noticing I was eating the Starburst in sets (pink, red, yellow, orange, rinse, repeat) and asking why I didn't eat each color all at once (light to dark) the way I do Skittles. I was almost affronted that he didn't know one always eats candy light-to-dark, unless it is wrapped, in which case it must be consumed in sets.

I must seem so OCD. And this must be boring you, but it is interesting to me, to always be finding new patterns in myself, to always be surprised at how different I am than I'd pictured becoming. Anyway, counting yellow jellybeans doesn't necessarily make me Rain(wo)man. I never count toothpicks, and I am much nicer to look at.

-stonebridge

previous | next