Some things aren't true until you say them...

01.06.2006 - 12:26 p.m.

New Year's is always funny for me--sometimes it feels like nothing at all, sometimes it feels saved by the bell, and others sort of sad and slouchy. It wanders, too--sometimes Christmas seems to be the date when everything changes, sometimes New Year's Eve, and sometimes my birthday. For several years it was my independence day from the ex, January 16th, that was the milestone, but I don't so much celebrate that anymore as occasionally remember it.

I am turning 27 on Monday, and this year it is sort of sad and slouchy. I am guessing that this is because for the first time in about a decade, I enjoyed nearly everything about this last year. Or at least, the impression I have left of it seems positive. So it will be sad to see it go. Also I have no idea how a lot of next year will work, and anyone who's read any of this knows how avoidant I can be.

I decided today that I don't want to get married at the church I scheduled for. I don't like the priest enough. He feels like my doctor--too busy to actually hear me when hello, listening is his job. If I didn't have 34827 relatives who expect a full mass wedding and big fat reception and who will never forgive me for anything else, I would absolutely elope.

More wedding gripes to come, I'm sure.

-stonebridge

previous | next