Some things aren't true until you say them...

05.04.2006 - 9:14 a.m.

I started writing here for all sorts of reasons.

In 2001, I had no friends who both 1) lived near enough for me to visit and 2) were not causing some sort of emotional entanglement, so I needed the place to pretend I was being heard.

In 2002 I figured everyone in my real life was tired of hearing about my ex and how I ruined my life over him, so it became a place to rant about that.

At some point around then, I decided to get better at writing, and started picking something from each day to dress up in actual language and meaning, and that was the best year or so in the history of stonebridge.

None of those reasons apply anymore. My social life is much more stable, I haven't seen the ex in several years, and I've been moving away from prose and into poetry for a long time now. I refuse to self-publish poetry here. When it is ready to be sent out to magazines and books, which it may already be, I don't want it rejected for being previously published.

What does that leave? Bi-weekly one-liners posted because I notice how long it's been since I've posted and feel like I should slap something up here? I feel bad, imagining I have an audience that my silence lets down.

What else? Emotional crap I can't post because someone else's emotional crap is worse, or because it involves people who might read this, or even worse, because I know it's meaningless drivel? I feel like I've grown out of that. I have real people to go to for that kind of release.

Bottom line, the internet is full of purposeless writing. It doesn't need mine too.

(This has been a public service announcement for anyone who may not yet realize, as I had not yet realized, that I stopped writing this in 2004.)

(I still read you guys though.)

-stonebridge

previous | next