Some things aren't true until you say them...

01.06.2008 - 9:51 p.m.

So New Year, resolutions, yada yada.

I exercised today. Just a couple easy things, a routine I'd had for a while but stopped using when my classes got crazy. I added some crunches too.

I also had a multivitamin. Nevermind that it was in the shape of Barney Rubble. Better kid vitamins I'll actually eat than adult ones I wouldn't, right?

Of course I'm right.

I also also got groceries and planted an herb garden and folded all the clothes we own and took down the Christmas ornaments and put away most of the pile of Christmas gifts we'd left scattered around before heading to Florida and cleaned out the suitcases we used and looked around for my five-pound hand weights and couldn't find them.

That's why I deserved the tiramisu gelato. It tastes so much better when you deserve it.

This is something I always rediscover: When I take care of myself, taking care of myself is easier. Like when I went to get dessert, there was a voice in my head that was telling me "So... you just did all that exercise so you could feel better... with that same goal in mind, let's leave it with just a taste, rather than a pig trough."

I've decided that from here on out, that voice belongs to Ivan, my personal trainer. He was helping me focus on the exercises too, you see. And I've only ever had a personal trainer once, for three meetings on a trial membership to a gym, and it sucked--she never remembered me or what I wanted--but Ivan will be different. He won't put up with the bullshit I always feed myself.

-stonebridge

previous | next