Some things aren't true until you say them...

07.15.2008 - 9:55 a.m.

I'm sitting in a computer lab, giving English placement exams. I have an orientation leader to help me--I answer questions having to do with the testing and placement process, he makes sure the students know where to go after they finish. He's also calling the other orientation leaders for me, helping me track down this student or that one, or getting me a list of students who didn't show for the day. I know from talking with him yesterday that he's going to be a junior this year.

His phone buzzes again once everything calms down, and it's clear after a moment that it's not another leader calling. I can just about hear the girl's voice: something about a car.

"Just turn the wheel all the way to the left," he says. The voice replies, excitedly.

"It's okay babe, just turn it." He moves the phone slightly away from his ear as she answers again, still a bit on the hysterical side.

He stands and gives me this look I am not sure how to describe. It's a smile, on the rueful side, but more than anything, I think it is pleased. He says nothing to me as he takes himself from the room, but that smile says "I have a girlfriend who needs me. Please excuse me while I get to rescue her."

It is the cutest thing I have seen all week.

Too, completely unrelatedly, my chest is peeling. Let me tell you, it is the sexiest thing ever.

previous | next