Some things aren't true until you say them...

07.22.2008 - 11:42 a.m.

Spent all yesterday (almost literally) writing this, to go in a thank you card I picked up. I am not sure if it is too smarmy, too blunt, not clear enough, etc, but I think it is nearly the words I want to send. I know I definitely want them to see it in writing:

Dear [father in law] and [mother in law],

Thank you so much for coming to visit us. We had a great time, and it was lovely to see you again. I know my parents were happy for the chance to visit with you, too.

We�re also thankful for your prayers and generosity. It is a load off our minds to know we have such wonderful family behind us.

[my husband] tells me that you even left us a check to help out, and have offered to send another every month. We appreciate the thought, more than I can say�and I know it must be difficult to have to watch us deal with this from so far away�but right now, we can�t accept any more than you�ve already given. I will cash what we have, but please don�t send any more.

You are already helping by loving us, rooting for us, and helping [my husband] brainstorm about places to send those resumes. Beyond that, the greatest gift you can give us is to trust that we will find our way through this. If it helps, I can give you the same promise I gave my own parents: Should we reach the point where we do need more, we will not hesitate to ask. We are just not there yet.

I hope you had a safe trip home and that you�re enjoying yourselves down there. I thought you might get a kick out of this card�it reminded me of Florida, with the palms and all the bright beach activity.

Love,
[stonebridge]

I was really proud that I managed to say all that without describing the tattoo I'll get if they don't listen.

-stonebridge

previous | next