Some things aren't true until you say them...

09.09.2008 - 5:03 p.m.

Lots of things have been bothering me lately, little things, but maddening as horse flies. I'm out of shape. I spend too many nights in my game. I got a parking ticket. I thought I had another book of checks but I don't. My husband and my cat keep leaving me fewer than fourteen sweaty inches of bed to sleep in. We tried to choose paint and carpet colors, and his choices suck. We bought conciliatory ice cream on the way home, then my sundae got dropped, whipped cream, strawberry sauce, and chocolate ice cream all down the bookshelf by the door.

These sorts of things are hard for me to shake off, when they happen in sequence like that. I'm just not as good as I used to be at moving out of life-hates-me space.

Then, this morning I got a call from my old boss, asking me to tell his 2:00 class that he wouldn't make it. Because his five-year-old daughter had another one of her seizures and he had to meet her at the hospital. But still, he took the time to smalltalk a bit, asking how the semesters' beginning was going and all that.

So that was my day's message from the powers that be: quit griping, because there are people who don't gripe when things are actually bad. And then, because I needed lunch anyway, I went over to the campus center and treated myself to Quizno's and a Cherry Coke and got a new anklet, all of which cheered me up, in various ways.

And then I got better.

-stonebridge

previous | next