Some things aren't true until you say them...

12.11.2008 - 7:30 p.m.

My favorite thing about running is that I get to feel like a completely different person. The person I know I am is friendly and a bit reserved and has a calmness about her that she's pretty good at sharing with others. But she doesn�t have anything she�s truly dedicated to, which is a shame. She never does anything for herself.

But I get on that track, and I? I am a badass. Because it is rainy. And I am running anyway. In December. At night. And whew, that�s all the badass I have to be; it doesn�t matter that I have to walk half of each lap because I have no stamina yet. It�s okay that I don�t know enough about distance or timing to try running anywhere other than the track, and it doesn�t bother me nearly as much as it might that I jiggle and heave and am dressed like my brother�s closet floor.

It lets me answer, when the husband calls to say he wants Wendy�s, �Thanks, but I�m trying to be good. I�ll just work on the leftovers.�

It�s like I win before I even have to try.

-stonebridge

previous | next