Some things aren't true until you say them...

02.02.2009 - 5:04 p.m.

I�ve always thought January first was a dippy time to make resolutions. It�s right after Cookiemas, and right before several family birthdays that have always involved cake. January is a rush season at my job, and it�s in the most unpleasant part of winter, when there isn�t even a light at the end of the tunnel in terms of expecting good weather or good moods. I think February is better. Around here, February is when you start getting non-freezing days again, when the work demands ease, and when the refrigerator is finally free of birthday cake. February is when you have more than a mouse�s chance in a trap factory of succeeding.

Last year, starting in July, I wrote 50k words. Or, well, 41k if you don�t count the nine left over from an attempt in 2006. Which I do, and you are a jerk if you think I shouldn't, so there.

This year, starting this week, I�m writing 100k words on my novel. Or to the end of the plot, whichever comes first. But, I�m also writing 3k words every week�I only need 2k per week for the novel, but I want to keep myself going on other things, too. The other thousand might be stonebridge entries, new story ideas, or just about anything else actually creative. (An aside: 522 words here. Although if you count the aside�s words too, it is 539.)

Last year, I weighed the same all year, which I guess is a sort of progress, in the sense that I didn�t get any lardier.

This year I�ll do the same or better. Mostly, I just want to establish habits�I want to exercise every week, and I want to feel compelled to do so. I want to cook more so I eat better, and get back to that place where the idea of Wendy�s is vaguely nauseating. I don�t actually care if that translates to weight loss, so long as I manage that much.

Last year I forgot I�d ever had hobbies other than writing and Warcraft.

This year I�ll keep the others around. I am thinking I won�t play the game at all on weekends, or perhaps only on certain nights; for one, that will give me actual time to interact with my husband, and for two, that way I�ll dedicate the other days to things like sculpture and knitting and cooking and 3000-piece puzzles.

Last year I hardly ever left the county.

This year won�t be much better�thanks, economy, you�re so awesome�but I want to get more out of what traveling I do manage, even if it�s just to a museum in the nearest city, or a tour of all the state parks. I want to get out more with my friends, and also more on my own.

Last year I felt like a roommate.

This year my husband will be more attentive. And I know, that sounds like the sort of thing that should be on his list, not mine, but if you think about it, in order for him to be attentive, I have to give him some idea of what I�m resenting him for not giving me. Perhaps resolving to ask when I want things will help.

-stonebridge

previous | next