Some things aren't true until you say them...

08.03.2001 - 11:34 a.m.

I went shopping yesterday, for food and because I sat on my old sunglasses. (a moment of silence, please, for my old sunglasses.)

I walk into Target, find the sunglasses rack, and pick up a pair pretty much at random-- and they fit. A little surprised, I turn the rack to one of the mirrors on the side, and get my second shock of the day. They look great. They don't make my nose look big or my forehead look tall, nor do they make me look like a bug or a robot or a wannabe hippy. I take them off and look at them carefully. Surely one of the lenses are scratched, (they weren't) or maybe it's a hugely expensive pair that's accidentally in the cheapo rack ($13.99, not cheapo but certainly acceptable) There must be something wrong with them. They were the first ones I picked up. Sunglasses shopping takes at least fifteen minutes. This just doesn't /happen/.

So I tried on a few more pairs. I found the ones that make me look like a bug, and the ones that make me look like a schoolteacher from hell, and the ones that made my nose look like a parasite on my face. It made me feel a little better, so I decided to buy that first pair.

Sitting at a stoplight after my food shopping, I figured out what was wrong with them. After a while they press just a little too hard behind the ears.

On the upside, though, sitting at all the stoplights after the Giant taught me something else. I hadn't eaten since lunch, and one of the things I always buy when I food-shop is sushi. Yeah, I know, Giant sushi is a bit iffy, but it's better than Superfresh sushi and I've only had good sushi twice, not often enough to make me very picky. So anyway I was hungry, and sitting at these lights, and the sushi was sitting next to me on the passenger seat. At every light I thought, "oh good it's red, I can start dinner." At every light I reached into the bag, and at the very instant I touched the rubber band around the carton, the light would turn green.

So I've discovered the secret to traffic lights.

The green light gods like sushi.

-stonebridge

Today's bad thing(s): I had a terrible dream about my old boss and being really late for work and that awful sinking gut feeling.

Today's good thing(s): I'm going home today, after work and dinner with friends. And I have sunglasses and food.

Notes for Next Time: Know your credit limit so it's harder to embarass yourself in public.

previous | next