Some things aren't true until you say them...

08.13.2001 - 11:33 a.m.

Yah, yah so it's been a bit. I've been crisscrossing the state (Maryland) to move into my friends' house until the apartment is ready, to pick up apartment furniture and filler, to help with a wedding, to stay with my future roomie instead of in a hotel for the wedding, to run errands, etc. Thursday night I had just under sixteen gallons of gas. Yesterday I had just over two. Which means I used fourteen gallons in two and a half days, twelve of which were spent in the rain.

The weekend's tone was set at 7:15 on Friday morning, as I left for my first two-hour trip between my current and childhood homes. I was driving along, minding my own business, pretty proud of myself for dragging said self out of bed before seven, and fairly sure I hadn't forgotten anything important. I see flashing lights in the rearview.

"Oh," I think to myself, "I'll just pull over so they can go catch whoever they're after."

So I pull over, and they pull up behind me.

41 in a 25, although my ticket says 34. I guess I wasn't quite cute enough to get away with just a warning.

Dammit.

-stonebridge

Notes for Next Time: the cop says if I had been doing 39, he would have left me alone.

Dammit.

previous | next