Some things aren't true until you say them...

06.28.2002 - 8:39 a.m.

Meant to post this next bit yesterday before I left work, but I couldn�t get onto Diaryland. So here it is now�

I am in a meeting with my boss. It is the first time I have seen him since he went on vacation two and a half weeks ago. He is training me to score a placement test the incoming freshmen will take tomorrow morning, although he keeps getting interrupted by phone calls from all the other people who haven�t seen him either.

I look up when I notice that he�s hung up the phone and is waiting for me. In my lap, in the space over the words �Scoring Guide for English Composition Placement Examination (ECPE),� a frog and a fairy have gotten into an argument. Their discussion, in tight, slightly wavering lines of blue script, has traveled across the top of the paper to spill down the right margin.

�Sorry about that. Ready now?� my boss asks me.

�Yep,� I answer.

My pen is still moving. �We will finish this later,� the frog warns, a parting shot as he disappears back into the water.

�So what�s next?� I ask, folding my hands in my lap, so innocent, though the tip of my pen hovers (coincidentally) above my work in progress.

It is so important to keep one�s priorities in good order.

-stonebridge

previous | next