Some things aren't true until you say them...

07.09.2002 - 11:43 a.m.

So this morning, I am walking into my building, kinda staring off into nothing, when I suddenly realize I am Not Alone.

There is a three-foot long black rat snake sunning himself just a step or two in front of me.

I look at him.

He looks at me.

We are collectively impressed by each other's size and proximity.

"Wow, hi there," I say. I do not move, still in the half-walking position I was in when I first saw him.

Pause. The snake is still. The morning sun shines in a long line along his side.

"Um, so I need to get past you." I say. There are bushes along the path here, and only a few feet past the snake to the door.

His head moves back a little, rises from the ground a little. I guess it is an easier angle to see me from. Part of his body pulls closer to itself. He is thinking of his escape routes.

"You sure are big." I tell him as I rock back on my heels, trying to give him space, trying to show him that it is safe for him to move. I wonder why I always talk to animals like this.

He slides off into the bushes, the sun glinting on his scales as they curve and flow across the brick, so pretty the way I can't tell how exactly they move him forward.

So I bested a serpent in a staring contest to get to my desk today. My boss better appreciate that.

-stonebridge

previous | next