Some things aren't true until you say them...

07.30.2002 - 4:01 p.m.

I just crossed the atrium for a drink. The floor tiles there have just enough space between their edges to pinch at the soles of your feet. Usually it rubs kindly, but today it hurts.

My feet are sore because yesterday I had the painfully bright idea to take out the trash barefoot. There is an entire parking lot between my apartment and the dumpster. It is made of black asphalt. It was four in the afternoon, and the temperature had been in the nineties all day.

Black melty bits embedded themselves in the pad just behind my toes, where they continued to smolder even after I made it back to the dirt next to the sidewalk.

Ow.

I�m not stupid. I have degrees. My GPA wasn�t too shabby, either.

It�s just that sometimes, I am pondering the universe when really I should be looking for my shoes.

-stonebridge

previous | next