Some things aren't true until you say them...

07.30.2002 - 10:18 a.m.

I�d always thought Kelly and I were perfect roommates. We care about the same things, we have similar social preferences (at least at home, we do), and actually enjoy being around each other. I�ve been so down about her leaving me. We lived together for a year, and practically together for a year before that, and never once had a fight or even really annoyed each other.

Lately, though, I�ve figured out why.

Lately, I�ve been noticing that Kelly may be good about cleaning in general, but she always leaves fast food wrappers on the coffee table. She never finishes cheeseburgers, but she never throws them away either. That even if she picks up after me a bit around the couches, I always seem to end up with the dishes, despite the fact that I generate maybe three dirty cereal bowls for every sinkful of pots she uses. That Jimmy is Kelly�s guest, not mine, so there should be a polite way to excuse myself from being around him on weekends. He comes down even when Kelly has to work.

I think what made us such good roommates was not that we were so perfectly, fantastically compatible, but that we were equally good at ignoring the incompatibilities.

So now that she�s leaving, I could feel hurt like last week, or I could be glad. Because I bet we could be better friends if I didn�t have to do so many of her dishes.

Also, yesterday I was playing with my cat, who gave me an ugly little swipe across a knuckle. Today it is trying to get infected, but I was grateful, because I get to keep her. I found a new roommate who likes cats.

One thing I�ve noticed lately is that angst isn�t nearly as fulfilling as it used to be. I keep coming up with excuses to be happy instead. It�s sort of disappointing, really. I was good at angst.

-stonebridge

previous | next