Some things aren't true until you say them...

08.01.2002 - 11:24 a.m.

I had a dream last night that I was productive. I didn�t have a job in this dream; instead, I seemed to be in charge of a variety of pointless, unrelated tasks like reorganizing a sweater drawer according to knit pattern and cleaning up after these people who kept eating spare ribs� I don�t know. But I was productive, and I woke up feeling ready to tackle the world.

I am trying SO HARD to stay that way�

I have things to do. I have some webpages to make, some editing, some writing. Yesterday when I was getting ready to leave, Ed, my sidewise boss, reminded me about this proposal he needs, which he was wondering if I�d finished yet.

(Wait. What proposal? Oh yeah, I remember now. It was clearly described in imaginary memo #2168...)

I have another week and a half before I see my real boss again.

It�s lunch. I haven�t been on IM today. I�ve kept myself off of diaryland and the rest of the internet for three hours. Haven�t checked email in almost two. I have chosen not to start writing the story that�s nibbling at the back of my mind, even though that means I will probably lose it.

I am trying so hard.

-stonebridge

previous | next