Some things aren't true until you say them...

09.10.2002 - 8:54 a.m.

Today my alarm went off just before 8, my first alarm, and I heard the TV from the living room. This reminded me that I had no car, and needed a ride to campus, so I got out of bed, tripped on the cat, wrapped myself in a bathrobe, and made my way out into the living room.

I've noticed that when I try to go directly from alarm number one to full-fledged awake, my sense of balance takes a while to get itself up and running. The cat does not help, but I really think it is more basic than that. Standing there and not falling over into my bedroom door took entirely too much concentration on my part.

"If I needed a ride, when would I have to be ready?" I asked the blonde blob in the armchair. Glasses. My glasses were somewhere.

"Um, about seven minutes..." The blob was turned towards me with an expression I can only guess was skepticism, since I couldn't actually see it.

"Right. Seven minutes. I can do that."

So I shuffled back into my room, tripped over the cat, found glasses, clothes, combed hair, tripped on and yelled at cat, deodorized, shuffled into the kitchen, missed stepping on cat but stubbed toe on door to pantry, fed cat, collected breakfast (Nutrigrain bar and can of apple juice) and lunch (four graham crackers, best I could do on short notice), sat down next to keys and iBook.

"Ready," I said. Two minutes left.

Hah.

-stonebridge

previous | next