Some things aren't true until you say them...

09.25.2002 - 12:22 p.m.

There is this one English professor. I've always thought of him as a pretty harmless, slightly clueless person. His students love him, but they also come in to the Writing Center to ask us to translate his assignment sheets into requirements that make sense. He's been here for three years.

Today I found out that before that, he designed the infrared sensors for the Galileo probe of Jupiter, and he helped build the first internet. Fifteen years in NASA.

When you ask him about it, he shrugs, and with a small smile explains, "That was a previous life. I am enjoying being a writer now." And that's all you can get him to say.

I want to make sure that I end up with at least three 'previous lives' to smile and not talk about.

-stonebridge

previous | next