Some things aren't true until you say them...

10.03.2002 - 1:00 p.m.

I woke up in the middle of last night. Went out into the living room with a glass of water and a book. Didn�t read, though. Just sat, staring out the patio doors and thinking. The cat fell asleep on me, belly-side-up, as if nothing in the world could ever go wrong.

Some time later I fell out of my reverie. I looked over at the cat sitting in the center of the room, her eyes owl-bright, her posture still holding just a hint of fight-or-flight. I looked down at my arm, at the matching beads of blood welling up along the inside of my elbow. I could still feel the warmth of her weight in my lap�my legs had yet to register her sudden movement.

I looked back up at the animal. �You get nightmares too, huh.�

So much for envying the cat.

-stonebridge

previous | next