Some things aren't true until you say them...

11.12.2002 - 1:48 p.m.

[Begin Scene. A woman in her early twenties walks up to the counter in a sleepy college office. She is dressed in a light blue sweater and a long gray skirt. She looks around, but no one is there. There is a service bell on the counter, which she rings twice. She looks around more while she is waiting, but there is nothing much to see. The walls are blank beige, the floor is slightly dusty linoleum tile, and the counter is a long slab of particle board faced with imitation wood. Next to the bell is a small plaque, �We are here to assist you.�

Woman sighs. There are dark smudges under her eyes. She hits the bell twice again.]

Woman: Hello? Is anybody here?

Voice from Back Room: Whatcha need?

[Woman pauses to see if owner of voice will emerge. Voice doesn�t.]

Woman: I�m here about overtime compensation.

Voice: Fill out a request form for the times you�ll need. You�ll find out if it�s approved in two weeks.

Woman: No, I meant for overtime I�ve already served.

[There is another pause.]

Voice: If you didn�t request it in due process, it never happened.

Woman: But it did happen. I worked yesterday when everyone else in the country had the day off. When I left I saw the MOON. I shouldn�t have to see the moon when I leave work, so I want compensation!

[Woman is gesturing in frustration but, obviously, Voice doesn�t see.]

Voice: It says here you aren�t even full time. You�re not even an official college employee. Third party wage payment, it says.

Woman: Wait, how do you know�

Voice: So you see, you can�t possibly have worked overtime, and even if you had, it couldn�t possibly have been our job to compensate. Have a nice day.

Woman: No, wait!

[Counter and office space behind it suddenly disappears, leaving Woman facing blank, beige wall. She stares at it for a few moments, then exits office. End Scene.]

I don�t care about the money. I just want my ten hours back.

-stonebridge

previous | next