Some things aren't true until you say them...

02.17.2003 - 7:30 p.m.

We are unable to take your call at this time, but if you leave a message at the tone, we'll get back to you as soon as we can.

*beep*

"Hi guys, it's Sarah. I was just calling to find out if you got snowed in with the cats, or snowed out where you can't feed them. I also wanted to let you know I'll be snowed in up here for another day or two. Gimme a call and let me know Hazel's okay, all right? Thanks."

That was the first thing I did today. Then there was the ski trip to the grocery store (Milk and eggs and salsa. Yes, salsa really is that important here.) and the digging out of the cars. Our driveway was looking a little like a formation of burial mounds; if I hadn't remembered where I'd parked, I don't know that I could have told which mound was mine.

And yesterday, two beautiful hours of skiing to get the little bro to his girlfriend's house, then turning to go home. Skiing all alone through more and more snow, hungry, thinking surely there are houses close enough that nothing really terrible could happen, tired, cold and wet and forming blisters, and wondering at what point 'stupid' becomes 'dangerous.'

Last time it snowed like this, measuring in feet instead of inches, we had a week off of school. Four days before we saw a plow. I picked up two friends and went driving anyway, pointlessly around the neighborhoods, getting ourselves stuck, getting out again, helping another lady who was stuck, going to a movie we'd all already seen. Just because we could.

I still can't. It's driving me nuts.

-stonebridge

previous | next