Some things aren't true until you say them...

03.12.2003 - 11:01 a.m.

Planning for a girlfriend�s wedding. Living under the roommates� wedding plans. Two engagements in the last month. Relationships springing up like weeds, and I don�t even have the strength to count the diarists. Egads, just about everyone I know, read, or hear about is falling madly in love.

I mean, I�m happy for everyone and wish you all the best, but really, could we chill already?

Especially all of you lovebirds who claimed to be cynics. Cynics do not fall in love. They live out their lives, and if they are lucky, it gradually occurs to them that someone near them is One They Love, but they never, ever fall. Cynics are not supposed to be susceptible to lightning bolts.

I can accept that some people are just good at falling in love. I look up to those people; letting oneself go is the bravest of all possible things. I can accept that there are specific times and situations where it is possible to be swept away, if you are a certain type of person. Just not the type of person I am at the moment. However, if other people, who I consider to be the same type of person as I am, are getting all twitterpated, it becomes a different situation, now doesn�t it? It�s no longer the case that it can�t happen to me. It becomes the case that for some random, uncontrollable reason, it just hasn�t. Or that I haven�t let it.

See, the real problem here is that the rest of you are not abiding by the neat little categories I�ve created for the world and everything in it. You should be ashamed. It�s terribly rude to poke holes in other people�s illusionary excuses.

Next thing I know, someone will be telling me that growing up won�t make me omniscient.

-stonebridge

previous | next