Some things aren't true until you say them...

05.06.2003 - 1:45 p.m.

A conversation from over the weekend:

Adam: Yeah, one time my English teacher told me she�d fail me if I used the phrase �spontaneous combustion� in one more paper.

Me: I�m sorry, are you saying that you had a habit of using �spontaneous combustion� in your papers? I�ve seen people overuse �For instance,� or �In light of,� but I�m having trouble thinking of ways to accidentally overuse �spontaneous combustion.�

Adam: Well, sure, it was pretty hard to work it in sometimes. I mean, if the assignment is �write about this boring girl�s boring reaction to her boring life,� you have to be pretty creative to come around to spontaneous combustion.

Me: I see.

Adam: Really, she should have given me extra credit, not threatened to fail me.

Me: (covers face with hands, shakes head slowly.)

-stonebridge

previous | next