Some things aren't true until you say them...

05.07.2003 - 3:20 p.m.

For a few precious moments early this morning, I was not thinking about work. I was in my boss�s office, sitting in his other desk chair and looking up at his bookshelves while he finished an email. A few moments beforehand I�d been explaining image compression to a freshman; a few moments afterwards we would walk across campus to a meeting about an impending workshop, a meeting which would run just late enough to send aftershocks through the rest of the day�s scheduled tutorials.

Later, there was another stretch of five minutes� freedom, when I took my yogurt out to the patio and ate, purposely staring off into nothing, thinking nothing, being nonexistant, but other than that it�s been stolen seconds during and between tutorials.

This morning, while I was staring at the spines of all those books, I decided that I�m due for a vacation. Then my boss hit �send.�

I remember very little of what�s happened since.

-stonebridge

previous | next