Some things aren't true until you say them...

05.08.2003 - 2:46 p.m.

It was about eight in the evening, and I was driving underneath what I�ve always thought of as a Colorado sky, dark tumbled clouds that still somehow let the sunlight through to highlight all the trees. The kind of sky you think must have been painted. I was thinking about the long road trip that will probably not happen this year either, thinking about driving in Texas and California and on the red roads of Arizona, all beneath my Colorado sky. It�s not just in literature that setting defines the mood.

Things at work are relaxing, a little bit. Yesterday�s tutorials were mostly students who were completely lost, who I had to step through every single click of the mouse. Today�s are more prepared, to the point where I�m getting them set up, then pretty much freed for my own devices while they work. So far I�ve cleaned up an email account and blown eighty dollars of my tax refund.

It�s getting to be time to write again. Made a half-assed effort last night but didn�t really get anywhere. I have a file of writing prompts, to get me typing when I�m stuck, but I think I need some new ones. The old ones have lost their spark.

So, yeah. This is my official appeal to anybody out there who reads this. Send me writing prompts, engaging quotes, apparent contradictions? Pretty please? I�ll link you, or something.

-stonebridge

previous | next