Some things aren't true until you say them...

05.14.2003 - 12:00 p.m.

I have fourteen minutes to write this. I keep having too much to do. I think if I were a sign, I�d be a yield. Or �Keep Right.� I think if I had turned my alarm on as well as having set it last night, I�d have a little more than fourteen minutes. My other computer�s downloading a program, which is why I can justify diaryland as work, because I am waiting. I am waiting. I used to be so much better at freewriting, used to spend all of physics class writing free-range poems. Like cattle. And I know I should be multitasking now, Estimated Time Left : 8 min 37 sec ( 3.5 of 49.5 MB copied) ---is enough time to clean out the work email. It�s also enough time to play �Love Bites� and whatever comes after it on iTunes, enough time to make two bags of popcorn, enough time to drive home but not back. Well, plus the walk time to the car. Nine minutes to noon, to calling the boss, you know I�d missed having deadlines.

I�m still waiting. Download�s finished but it won�t work, I knew it wouldn�t work cause I�d already used that free trial but hey, without the download I�d have had twenty-three minutes of paid life unaccounted for, and I think I�ve just defined the mind of a beaurocrat. I�d forgotten about the other free trial when I started. I just didn�t stop.

Six minutes. I write three lines of gibberish every minute. Slow, although faster than I write when I write well.

Five. Did you know, I finished that stupid afghan. Two nights ago. I�m keeping it on my bed, now, so it�ll smell like me and not like the trunk of my car when I give it to them. I have too much yarn left, almost enough for another afghan but, no. Sarah needs a change of pace. For a long time. Like at least a year.

Three minutes. I dreamed about tornadoes again. I need to stop that. And my office is a natural disaster, too. Since Monday I�ve brought yogurt every day and forgotten to eat it, so there�s two bad yogurts in the trash, and that reminds me I have to clean the refrigerator and my car and my life. That one�s always the hardest. And my brother called the other day because Mother�s day was nothing special, so now after the wedding I�ll still be in the throes of planning outings and events and now�

-stonebridge

previous | next