Some things aren't true until you say them...

07.31.2003 - 1:05 p.m.

In a few hours I'm going to be on a plane, heading out to a cousin's wedding. It's just me and my mom going, and I'm not quite sure why it's not just Mom. I'm not quite comfortable around my relatives. I don't know them.

Maybe I am going because Mom would want the company, would want her family represented. Maybe it's because I feel like they'll all ask about me, so I might as well be there to answer. Or maybe it's because I feel like I should want to go, or maybe I actually do. We'll have some time to look around. The wedding's not until Saturday, so we'll have Friday and most of Sunday to sightsee, or visit, or go shopping in an actual shopping district in a city. (We don't have any of those where I live. Trees? Yes. Water? Yes. Stores worth drooling over? Not so much.)

I dunno. Weddings are strange, some of the weirdest collections of human actions I've ever seen, and I am getting kind of tired of them.

Also, this cousin is three years younger than me. All previous family weddings have been older people. It shouldn't bug me; after all, my younger friends started marrying each other years ago. It shouldn't bother me because I don't want to marry anytime soon. But it does, because my brain has a stupid frilly girl hiding in it.

Maybe I am just in a bad mood because I still have to pack. Yeah, I bet that's it.

-stonebridge

previous | next