Some things aren't true until you say them...

08.26.2003 - 4:52 p.m.

Yesterday evening I exercised, on purpose, for the first time since the high renaissance. I had forgotten how fun it can be to attempt to rehydrate when your arms are too trembly to hold the cup properly.

I used a weight set at my friends' house, and an exercise bike, and did some sit-ups. Well, by "used the weight set" I mean I did several sets with the lighter big bar and one of the dinky weights at each end. If you were picturing a full workout of multiple muscle groups, now would be a good time to revise your mental imagery.

Also, when I say "I did sit-ups," you need to understand that I did, ah, thirty.

But! Today my pecs are all tingly, and I had forgotten how good it feels to be tingly. And I feel like a non-slug, which is also good and more than a little unusual. Heh. You know, if I did this all the time, I could be in shape. I could be in a good shape. With ripples and tummy flatness.

If I last two weeks I'm buying myself a new sports bra.

-stonebridge

previous | next