Some things aren't true until you say them...

09.03.2003 - 6:27 p.m.

Today I played with purchase orders. Not that purchase orders are that fun, or at least, the part where you have to apply to the budget lady is certainly unpleasant. But, forty-five dollars for office supplies! Forty-five dollars for multicolored stickies in three different sizes, for new pens and those skinny eraser board markers I've coveted all year, so I can make my tasked-by-color schedule calendar.

And thumbtacks and stapler refills! Tape cartridges and divider tabs in the SAME colors as the markers! Oh, the color-coded possibilities!

If my twelve-year-old self, the one with the ratty binder bursting with the crinkled, torn edges of half the year's handouts, the one who lived by the motto "organization is for the terminally uncreative," if she could see me now? She'd cry.

-stonebridge

previous | next