Some things aren't true until you say them...

09.29.2003 - 11:49 a.m.

My dream car is gone. For just over a week, I�ve been driving past a little red two-seat in a driveway on the way to work. I�ve wanted it. I�ve pictured myself driving with the windows open and the top down; I would feel like the absolute image of sex and cool. I�ve imagined the purr of the engine accelerating, the stick shift solid in the palm of my hand. I've seen the road rush beneath me with an immediacy that is impossible to achieve in a ponderous, automatic sedan.

I�ve mentally adjusted bank accounts, repurposing large portions of dedicated monies. If it was still sitting in that driveway today, I was going to call my insurance company to find out how the rate would change. I was going to call the number that was posted in its window, which I�ve saved in my cell under �Car�, and ask for John.

But it wasn�t there today, and really, that�s what I was waiting for. After all, the key to frugal living is to get your money�s worth in your head.

-stonebridge

previous | next