Some things aren't true until you say them...

10.29.2003 - 5:45 p.m.

I've been having one of those days where everything is just a bit off-kilter. I've been running meetings where I was sure I'd planned out what to say and how it all related to the next thing, but the word that most often passes my lips is "um."

This afternoon when I had to run home for the copy card I accidentally took to a conference then left in my suitcase for safekeeping, I noticed that my bed was made. There were flowers and a card leaning against the pillow. I wanted to cry or stop by the house and thank him but I only had twenty minutes to get back, make the copies, and make the meeting.

Not enough time. And here I am sitting in my office on two hours less sleep than I wanted, one hour after I should have been free to go, waiting for a file to transfer and a tutor to return for her things. I need to get myself out of here.

If there ever was a day for flowers and a card, it was today.

-stonebridge

previous | next